Skip to content

Is America Self-Destructing? A View from the Great White North

August 16, 2009

Okay, folks, here it goes – my first blog rant, and hopefully my last.

What put things over the top for me was an email I received today from a relative living in the US. In the email were links to YouTube on the Obama conspiracy and what is alleged to be his dark and sordid past. I’d already watched and listened to enough clips of raving lunatics like Rush Limbaugh and Glenn Beck spout off about Barack Obama and how he’s the evil incarnate. But the clips set me off, leaving me not knowing whether to laugh or cry. I was in the middle of watching them when my youngest daughter (20) walked into the living room. “DAD,” she yelled, “WHAT IN THE HELL ARE YOU WATCHING?” I quickly had to explain myself, lest she thought that her dad was in reality a neo-conservative racist who had just slipped out of the closet. She watched part of the clip in disbelief, not believing that people could spew forth such crap and nonsense.

For Mr. Beck, who has baldly compared the Obama administration to the Third Reich, he should immediately resign from Fox News since he’s an embarrassment to his profession. But then again, so is Fox News. Having done a lot of reading on the economic and political events following World War I and during the 1920s and 30s, I can recommend some very good books to Mr. Beck. There’s nothing like informing yourself on facts and the truth – not a bad idea for a journalist, wouldn’t you say, Mr. Beck?

I’d like to suggest putting Mr. Beck on a very slow boat to China with a one-way ticket, and don’t forget to leave room for Rush and Sarah Palin. They’d be good company with loads to talk about.

Now some Americans may say to us Canucks to mind our own business. Let us stew in our own political juice, they’d say. Well that would be lovely if we could. But when you live next to a friend and neighbour that is 10 times your size in population, every twitch and grunt, to paraphrase the late Canadian Prime Minister Pierre Trudeau, is felt. In the context of the turmoil in America over healthcare, etc. and the evil incarnate Barack Hussein Obama, what we’re now getting is a very loud, long, wet one from south of the border. Sorry folks, I just can’t stay quiet on this issue of your new president. Give him a chance, and if he doesn’t deliver the goods then vote him out of office in 2012. I love Americans too much. I’ve travelled across your country (6,000 plus miles in just May 2008) and actually started school in Battlecreek, Michegan in 1960. There’s no way I’m going to watch America self-destruct without speaking out.

Ah, that feels better…much, much better!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 19, 2009 12:44 pm

    here here….after dating an American during Desert Storm, attending many conferences and travelling throughout the USA I sometimes wonder if Americans actually listen to what they are saying. From where we sit it just sounds like crazy….Yes this was a necessary rant on your part and perhaps the people who need to will see it as well!

  2. expat21 permalink
    August 16, 2009 7:12 pm

    I’ve been wondering about the same thing recently! People all over the world seem to be wondering about it.

    Expat 21

Leave a Reply

